Delhi | Facts and Figures


Capital : New Delhi

Formation : 1956

Delhi is formally known asĀ National Capital Territory of Delhi(NCT).

Area : 1,484 km2

Delhi is the 2nd largest union territory by area.

Population : 16+ Lakhs

Based on 2011 census, population inĀ Delhi is more than 16 Lakhs and ranks 1st position among union territories. Therefore the population density is 11312 persons per square kilometer.

Language : Hindi and English

Number of Districts : 11

Below are the districts in Delhi:

  1. Central Delhi
  2. East Delhi
  3. New Delhi
  4. North Delhi
  5. North East Delhi
  6. North West Delhi
  7. Shahdara
  8. South Delhi
  9. South East Delhi
  10. South West Delhi
  11. West Delhi

Vehicle registration code: DL

Literacy rate : 86.34%

According to 2011 census, Delhi stands 5th in literacy rate among union territories.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.