Haryana | Facts and Figures


Capital : Chandigarh

Chandigarh is an union territory which serves as capital for two states - Punjab and Haryana.

Statehood : 1 November 1966

Area : 44,212 km2

Haryana is the 21st largest state by area.

Population : 2.5 + Crores

Based on 2011 census, population in Haryana is more than 2.5 Crores and ranks 18th position. Therefore the population density is 573 persons per square kilometer.

Language : Hindi


Below are the letters in Hindi:

अ आ इ ई उ ऊ ए ऐ ओ औ अं अः ऋ

क ख ग घ ङ

च छ ज झ ञ

ट ठ ड ढ ण

त थ द ध न

प फ ब भ म

य र ल व

श ष स ह

क्ष त्र ज्ञ

Number of Districts : 22

Below are the districts in Haryana:

  1. Ambala
  2. Bhiwani
  3. Charkhi Dadri
  4. Faridabad
  5. Fatehabad
  6. Gurugram
  7. Hisar
  8. Jhajjar
  9. Jind
  10. Kaithal
  11. Karnal
  12. Kurukshetra
  13. Mahendragarh
  14. Nuh
  15. Palwal
  16. Panchkula
  17. Panipat
  18. Rewari
  19. Rohtak
  20. Sirsa
  21. Sonipat
  22. Yamunanagar

Vehicle registration code: HR

Literacy rate : 76%

According to 2011 census, Haryana stands 15th in literacy rate.

State Animal : Blackbuck

State Bird : Black francolin

State Flower : Lotus

State Tree : Peepal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.