Cricket is a bat and ball game played between two teams which originated in the 16th century. This sport became popular during the expansion of the British empire. The game comprises of two wickets kept at a distance of 22 yards and the area between them is called as the pitch. The bowler bowls from one end, and the batsman bats from the other end of the pitch.


International Cricket Council is the highest governing body for cricket. It was founded in the year 1909 and was known as Imperial Cricket Conference. Later it was renamed to International Cricket Conference in 1965. Then it was renamed to the present name, International Cricket Council, in 1989. The headquarters is in Dubai, UAE.


1) Each team contains 11 players. The team which wins the toss, will have the choice to choose batting or bowling.

2) The bowler must bowl six consecutive correct balls to constitute an over.

3) One batsman will be near the wicket where bowler is standing and the other where wicket keeper is standing.

4) One run is scored when the both batsmen run to the opposite wicket successfully. If the opposite team hits the stump using the ball before the batsman crosses the crease, then the batsman will be out.

5) When the ball hit by batsman is caught by the fielder directly, then the batsman is out of the game.

6) When the ball hit by batsman falls on or behind the boundary directly, then 6 runs given to the team. If it crosses the boundary indirectly, then the team is awarded 4 runs.


WG Grace

Donald Bradman

Sachin Tendulkar

One day

50 overs is given for each team.


20 over is given for each team.


There is no restriction of overs in this match, but it is played for a maximum of 5 days.

Interesting Facts

1) South Africa needed 111 runs to win in the morning at 11:11 on date 11/11/11.

2) English cricketer Alec Stewart was born on 8-4-63 and his total test runs is 8463.

3) Legendary batsman Donald Bradman has hit only 6 sixes in his entire career.

4) Sachin Tendulkar (24 February 2010) was the first person to hit a double hundred in One Day cricket, followed by Virender Sehwag (8 December 2011) and Rohit Sharma (2 November 2013).