Andhra Pradesh | Facts and Figures

Andhra pradesh

Capital : Amaravati

Amaravati is the de facto capital of Andhra Pradesh where as Hyderabad serves as the de jure capital.

Statehood : 01 October 1953

The state was split into Andhra Pradesh and Telangana in June 2, 2014.


Area : 162,970 km2

Andhra Pradesh is the 8th largest state by area.


Population : 4.9+ crores

Based on 2011 census, population in Andhra Pradesh is more than 4.9 crores and ranks 10th position. Therefore the population density is 308 persons per square kilometer.


Language : Telugu


Below are the letters in Telugu:

అ ఆ ఇ ఈ ఉ ఊ ఋ ౠ ఌ ౡ ఎ ఏ ఐ ఒ ఓ ఔ అం అః


Number of Districts : 13

Below are the districts in Andhra Pradesh

  1. Anantapur
  2. Chittoor
  3. East Godavari
  4. Guntur
  5. Cuddapah
  6. Krishna
  7. Kurnool
  8. Prakasam
  9. Nellore
  10. Srikakulam
  11. Vishakhapatnam
  12. Vizianagaram
  13. West Godavari

Vehicle registration code: AP

Literacy rate : 67%

According to 2011 census, Andhra Pradesh stands 25th in literacy rate.

State Animal : Blackbuck

State Bird : Rose-ringed parrot

State Flower : Jasmine

State Tree : Neem

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.